Why CDMX iykyk?

The purpose of this newsletter.

The purpose of this newsletter is to provide a centralized source of CDMX news, current events, fun happenings & recommendations to the expat and digital nomad community. Mexico City has seen a boom in expats and digital nomads post-pandemic, and this phenomenon has created opportunities and its host of issues. There is controversy and backlash about the gentrification of popular neighborhoods. But of course, the negative issues that have arisen from digital nomadism (increased housing prices, inequality & cultural displacement) are often unintended consequences of our privileged lifestyle. This is why the motivation for this newsletter is to help the expat and digital nomad community to stay informed about – and engaged with – the city and country they’re currently calling home.

A little bit about me and why I’m writing this newsletter… 

I spent my childhood in northern Mexico (Durango) and moved to Chicago when I was 12. In 2021, I became a digital nomad and have now settled in Mexico City. I’m both a Mexican and US citizen, and I was born in Mexico so am I also an expat living in Mexico? Do I have more of a “right” to live here than a non-Mexican expat? The answer depends on who we ask, but this newsletter isn’t about me or my identity. This project is about something important that’s missing in my life. 

The idea for this newsletter stems from my own need to be informed, aware and engaged. Because, quite frankly I’m currently not as much as I’d like to since I prefer to get my news in English even though I’m fluent in Spanish and I haven’t found many English outlets that I like. And while there are many English resources to help one stay an informed citizen/expat, they are scattered throughout the noisy internet — disparate websites, social media accounts, Facebook groups, Whatsapp chats, etc. It’s all very chaotic and messy. 

Your guide to stay in the know 

With CDMX if you know, you know I’m filling my personal gap of having a curated newsletter delivered to my inbox each week that covers top Mexico City news, cool cultural happenings & events as well as some fun recommendations. My hope is that you will find this newsletter useful and helpful as you navigate your life in this amazing city. This project will grow and evolve and I will need your feedback to do that! Don’t be shy to let me know what you would like to see covered — if there are cool events/happenings that make sense to include, if you have suggestions for films, music, books I should recommend, etc. Really, my ears are open to your thoughts and suggestions. 

My goal with this newsletter is to help the collective expat & digital nomad community deepen their awareness of what is happening in the city they live in — and to inspire us to start thinking more deeply about how we can contribute to the local community. We’re fortunate to live in this vibrant, creative, cosmopolitan, historical city and we can continue to enjoy our privileged lives while staying in the know.

If you would like your weekly dose of Mexico City news and happenings, sign up below and spread the joy by inviting a friend along for the journey!